Dandelions On The Wind

14 Oct

Dandelions On The Wind

Dandelions On The Wind by Mona Hodgson


Tattered relationships and broken hearts, like a quilt, can be pieced together by God’s love.

When Maren Jensen took a job on Elsa Brantenberg’s St. Charles, Missouri farm, she never expected to call the place her home. As she grows to love Mrs. Brantenberg and her granddaughter, Gabi, Maren is transformed from a lonely mail-order bride-without-a-groom to a beloved member of the Brantenberg household.

But when Gabi’s father, Rutherford “Wooly” Wainwright, returns to the farm unexpectedly, everything changes for Maren. Despite the failing eyesight that caused her suitor to reject her, she can see that Wooly desperately needs to reconnect with the family he abandoned when his grief sent him running toward the army—and into the Civil War. She also senses there could be something more between the widower and herself, if either can move beyond their past hurts. 

Comforted and counseled by the wisdom of the women in her beloved quilting circle, Maren begins to discover the cost such decisions demand of her heart. Are her choices in obedience to God, or is she running from His plan? Is it too late for love to be stitched into the fabric of her life?


Dandelions On The Wind is the first of three novellas in The Quilted Heart stories.  These prequel novellas introduce wonderful characters in Mona Hodgson’s Hearts Seeking Home series.
I immediately fell in love with the characters of this story:

Mrs. Brantenberg, an aging woman of faith
Gabi, a little girl full of charm
Maren, a young woman whose eyesight is diminishing
“Woolly”, the prodigal son-in-law

Dandelions On The Wind is a wonderful story of faith and love, told through vivid imagery.  Though the years of war have been trying, Mrs. Brantenberg and the members of her household are trying to live each day by faith rather than fear.  Find out where their journey leads in Mona’s Hearts Seeking Home series

The Quilted Heart Novella 1:  Dandelions On The Wind
The Quilted Heart Novella 2:  Bending Toward The Sun
The Quilted Heart Novella 3:  Ripples Along The Shore 


Married forty-one years to her leading man, Mona from Arizona lives in the Southwest where trees have arms instead of branches and salsa is a staple. When Mona Hodgson isn’t writing or speaking, she’s playing Wii games with her Arizona grandson, spending time with her mom, picnicking, texting her sisters, or chatting on Skype with her grandchildren in Africa.
Mona Hodgson is the author of nearly 40 books, historical novels for adults and children’s books, including her popular Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series, The Quilted Heart novellas, and Hearts Seeking Home Series. Her children’s books include bestseller, Bedtime in the Southwest, six desert and princess Zonderkidz I Can Read books, Real Girls of the Bible: A 31-Day Devotional, and her six I Wonder books. Mona’s writing credits also include several hundred articles, poems and short stories, which have appeared in 50 different publications. Mona is a speaker for women’s groups, Christian women’s retreats, book clubs and reading groups, schools, and conferences for writers and librarians.

From the author:
On January 21, WaterBrook Multnomah will release Dandelions on the Wind, Bending Toward the Sun, and Ripples Along the Shore as a print omnibus–three novellas in one book.

One Response to “Dandelions On The Wind”

  1. savurbks October 14, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    I can’t wait to read the next books in the series!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: