Review: A Heart’s Betrayal | Melt Into Summer Giveaway

24 Jun

A Heart's Betrayal

A Heart’s Betrayal by Colleen Coble

Purchase a copy:

Emmie finds shelter in the arms of a soldier, but her secret could drive them apart.

When Emmie Croftner answered the door to her late husband’s home, she discovered an awful truth: her deceased husband was a bigamist. And what’s more, the home she thought she inherited never belonged to her at all.

Suddenly displaced, powerless, and ashamed, Emmie can’t stay in Wabash, Indiana. She makes a hopeful start for Fort Laramie, Wyoming, to find her friend Sarah Montgomery and a new beginning. But when she arrives, she discovers she’s pregnant—and without a husband. The new start she’d hoped for slips from her fingers.

But then she meets Isaac Liddle, a handsome soldier with a kind heart. When he begins to court her, Emmie wonders whether she could ever really be his—and whether she dares to tell him she is carrying another man’s baby.

My thoughts:

A Heart’s Betrayal is another great story in the Journey of the Heart serialization!  As the end of this journey draws closer and closer, the more anxious I become to find out what will happen next.  Each short story has left me eager for the next, and A Heart’s Betrayal is no exception. 

In this fourth installment of the serialization, readers are introduced to Emmie Croftner, Ben Croftner’s sister.   When Emmie’s world is turned upside down, she seeks a fresh start in Wyoming with childhood friend Sarah Montgomery.  While this story is not as action-packed as those that have preceded it, I thought the slower pace was well-suited to the dramatic story line.  I enjoyed meeting Emmie, as well as catching up with Rand and Sarah and Jacob and Amelia, and I can’t wait to continue their stories.   

The Journey of the Heart serialization begins with A Heart’s Disguise and includes six installments that will release monthly from March through August. These stories were originally published in two books, Where Leads the Heart and Plains of Promise.

A complimentary copy of A Heart’s Betrayal was provided to me through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for an honest review. I appreciate the opportunity to read this book and offer my honest opinion.

Landing page:


Melt into summer with a new giveaway from Colleen: four books (books one–four in Colleen’s A Journey of the Heart series) and a box of chocolates to pair with your new books!

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A copy of A Heart’s Betrayal
  • A box of Colleen’s favorite chocolate truffles from DeBrand Fine Chocolates
  • A copy of A Heart’s Disguise
  • A copy of A Heart’s Obsession
  • A copy of A Heart’s Danger

Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on June 30th. Winner will be announced July 1st on Colleen’s website.



Colleen Coble

Colleen Coble has sold over 2 million novels worldwide. Seagrass Pier, the third installment in her acclaimed Hope Beach series, marks a new highpoint for emotion and complexity in Coble’s addictive brand of romantic suspense.

Find Colleen online: website, Facebook, Twitter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: