Tag Archives: Stoney Ridge

#BookReview: The Quieting by Suzanne Woods Fisher

30 May

The Quieting

The Quieting by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Purchase a copy: http://bit.ly/1UpvPxH

The Stoltzfus family faces serious problems, both in the church and at home. Everyone in the community expects minister David Stoltzfus to fix things–fast. But David doesn’t work fast. He prefers to wait for God to work in individual hearts. However, even he is left wondering if the solution to their most pressing problem might be a Quieting.

When David’s mother arrives, uninvited, more upheaval is in store. She has matchmaking plans for everyone in the family, including David and her eligible granddaughters–and especially for David’s niece Abigail. When Abigail stumbles onto a curious connection during her genealogical research, it could help David solve one problem–but will it create another?


My thoughts:

The Quieting is a great story! Suzanne Woods Fisher welcomes readers back to Stoney Ridge in this second installment of The Bishop’s Family series. While The Quieting continues a story line that began in Book 1, The Imposter, it can easily be enjoyed as a stand-alone novel.

As problems continue to plague the church and community, David Stoltzfus struggles to find the right solutions. I really enjoyed David’s journey, as well as the relationship that developed between his niece Abigail and Dane Glick. Fisher brings this story to life with memorable characters, an engaging plot, and wonderful wit and wisdom. I delight in spending time in the quaint community of Stoney Ridge and look forward to returning as the series continues!

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review. All thoughts expressed are my own.


The Quieting graphic

Review: The Imposter

31 Oct

The Imposter

The Imposter by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Purchase a copy:
Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Christianbook | DeeperShopping

Katrina Stoltzfus thought she had life and love all figured out: she was going to marry John and live happily ever after. Those plans started to crumble when her father moved the family to Stoney Ridge, then completely collapsed when John decided to marry someone else. Katrina is devastated. How could she have felt so loved, yet been so deceived?

As she struggles to face a future without him, a widow asks for her help to start a new business and Katrina quickly agrees. She needs time to heal her broken heart, to untangle her messy life, to find a purpose. What she doesn’t need is attention from Andy Miller, a farm hand who arrives at the widow’s farm just when help is most needed–and who always seems to say the right thing, and be in the right place, at the right time. Is Andy for real, or too good to be true? Deceived once before, Katrina is determined to keep her feelings in check.

When a cascade of events is set in motion by some surprising information, the little Amish church is turned upside down. Soon, everyone has a stake in the outcome, and the community struggles to find the best response to an imposter in their midst. Can they forgive even the most deceitful deeds?


My thoughts:

Suzanne Woods Fisher welcomes readers back to Stoney Ridge in her new series, The Bishop’s Family. Fans of Fisher’s earlier Stoney Ridge novels will enjoy revisiting this beloved community and its residents and will fall in love with a host of new characters.

I loved everything about this multi-faceted story! It’s brimming with charming characters, suspense and surprises, inspiration, and romance. The Imposter captivated me from beginning to end and left me begging for more! I adore Suzanne Woods Fisher’s stories and can’t wait to continue this new series.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review. All thoughts expressed are my own.


Suzanne Woods Fisher

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling, award-winning author of fiction and non-fiction books about the Old Order Amish for Revell Books, host of the radio-show-turned-blog Amish Wisdom, a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazine.

Her interest in the Amish began with her grandfather, who was raised Plain. A theme in her books (her life!) is that you don’t have to “go Amish” to incorporate the principles of simple living.

Suzanne lives in California with her family and raises puppies for Guide Dogs for the Blind. To her way of thinking, you just can’t life too seriously when a puppy is tearing through your house with someone’s underwear in its mouth.

Suzanne can be found on-line at www.suzannewoodsfisher.com.

The Letters

19 Aug

The Letters

The Letters by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Rose Schrock is a plain woman with a simple plan. Determined to find a way to support her family and pay off her late husband’s debts, she sets to work to convert the basement of her Amish farmhouse into an inn. While her family, especially her cranky mother-in-law, is unhappy with Rose’s big idea, her friend and neighbor, Galen King, supports the decision and he helps with the conversion. As Rose finalizes preparations for visitors, she prays. She asks God to bless each guest who stays at the Inn at Eagle Hill. As the first guest arrives and settles in, Rose is surprised to discover that her entire family is the one who receives the blessings, in the most unexpected ways. And she’s even more surprised when that guest decides to play matchmaker for Galen King.

With her signature plot twists combined with gentle Amish romance, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher invites readers back to Stoney Ridge for fresh stories of simple pleasures despite the complexity of life. Fisher’s tale of God’s providence and provision will delight her fans and create many new ones. Welcome to the Inn at Eagle Hill.


The Letters is a wonderfully written story of love and loss, hurt and healing.  As you read, you will fall in love with the delightful Schrock family and the people who come into their lives in the most unexpected ways.  Blessings abound in Stoney Ridge at The Inn at Eagle Hill. 

This was my first visit to Suzanne Woods Fisher’s Stoney Ridge, but it certainly won’t be my last.  The Letters is the first book in The Inn at Eagle Hill series.  The second book of the series, The Calling, will be released in January 2014.